Jarrow Hall House
Jarrow Hall is our beautiful grade II listed manor house adjacent to the Bede Museum and overlooking Drewetts Park to the south. Jarrow Hall House is home to our café - Hive Coffee Company - on the ground floor alongside a unique hire and function space, the Oval Room, on the first floor.
Built around 1785 by local businessman Simon Temple, the building went through a number of hands throughout the 20th century before benefiting from a £50,000 restoration project and becoming the Bede Monastery Museum in 1974. When the Bede Museum launched in 1993, Jarrow Hall House became used as a visitor café and also housed a permanent exhibition showcasing the building’s links to Jarrow's mining and shipbuilding heritage.
To the east of the building sits the Herb Garden. The first part draws on the structure of a typical medieval physic garden and includes culinary and medicinal species. Beyond this, the garden is based on the Plan of Saint Gall – a famous medieval architectural drawing of a monastic compound dating from the early 9th century – and our plants were chosen based on Anglo-Saxon and medieval varieties suitable for our soil and climate.
Fully-renovated in 2017, the interior of Jarrow Hall House was repainted from top-to-bottom in colours provided by Dulux from their Heritage Collection, and with Georgian-era expertise provided by Durham University.
Extended Jarrow Hall Unlimited passes
valid through to April 2018